Value of Higher Education

The value of higher education, to me, is comprised of multiple elements. Higher education is important because it’s a way of investing my future. We live in a world with an increasingly competitive job market, and higher education is quickly becoming a pre-requisite for any type of job that pays above minimum wage. Being financially stable is definitely a long-term goal, and higher education paves the way for that, I believe.

I value higher education because it gives me the time to get a better idea of what I want to do career wise and it allows me time to think about my future. I was talking to one of my friends who has already graduated college and she told me “Savor it while it lasts because it’s a whole four years where your main focus is on education, not paying rent, not finding a full time job, it’s one of the only times in your life when your only obligations are to go to class, do your work, and figure out what you want to do with your life” and that resonated with me. I do not know what I would be doing if I wasn’t in college right now, and I’m very aware of that.

Higher education also has the value of introducing me to people, ways of life, cultures, and point of views that I normally would not have access to. We live in a small community and that gives me so many opportunities to learn about my peers and share ideas with them. Higher education introduces you to so many resources that you can, and should, take advantage of. For example, career advising or study abroad programs.

The value of higher education is that I feel as though when I graduate from college, I will be a completely different person than when I entered it, and that itself is invaluable.

Leave a Reply

