Contact microphone.

I spent most of my time at the contact microphone station. It seemed to have the most potential for bizarre and/or surprising sounds, especially when rubbed against the various moving parts of a bicycle. I can’t honestly say that I picked up on any sort of greater symbolic significance, but the microphone was fun to play around with. I’m not sure who set up the station, but they picked a nice assortment of objects to generate sound from. All in all, it was a skillfully assembled set.

The rest of the event was enjoyable enough; the theremin was cool to hear—usually. I didn’t play around with many of the other stations, so I can’t offer any real evaluation of them.

Leave a Reply

